Our Lady of the Rivers Shrine gets its name from the fact that three major rivers-the Illinois, Missouri, and the Mississippi-meet within a few miles of the site.
The Shrine itself was dedicated in October 1957 to commemorates an event that took place during the July 1951 flood, but is also a dedication to the rich history and incredible beauty of the area.
Portage des Sioux is located ~12 miles from St. Charles and ~9 miles from West Alton. Take MO-94 to CR J and then 1 mile into Portage des Sioux. Take a right on Common Field Street and go approximately 1/4 mile to Le Seurre Street which leads to shrine on the river.
The site is available to everyone, anytime, weather permitting.
Parking is free. There is a small paved lot directly across the road, just feet from the walkway entrance which is wheelchair accessible.